Thursday, August 05, 2010

Finally! Congrats to our newest Justice of the Supreme Court!

Jim Newell passes along the good news: Elena Kagan has been approved by the Senate, 63-37.

Looking around for the roll call, I found this from the AP:

A "yes" vote is a vote to confirm the nomination.

Voting yes were 56 Democrats, 5 Republicans and 2 independents.

Voting no were 1 Democrat and 36 Republicans.

Ben Nelson (Nebraska) was the lone Dem "no." The five Rep "yes" votes were from Lugar (Indiana), Collins and Snowe (Maine), Gregg (New Hampshire), and Graham (South Carolina).


No comments: